Ochai Agbaji adds a Final Four MVP to his awards haul with Kansas Jayhawks

Manning, the first pick in the 1988 NBA Draft, was the Most Outstanding Player of the 1988 Final Four and won the Wooden, Naismith and NABC national player of the year awards

All-American honors. Manning also attended Monday’s title game with other former Jayhawks such as Paul Pierce, Ryan Robertson, Billy Thomas, Aaron Miles, Mario Chalmers, 

Agbaji was the AP and coaches’ Big 12 player of the year, the Big 12 Tournament MVP and a consensus first-team All-American.

“Coach talked to me about it. Obviously on the podium there just then and in the podium when we were in Chicago (after winning regional title),” Agbaji said of Self telling him he’s second most accomplished Jayhawk behind Manning.

“But winning the most outstanding player of this, I don’t really care because we won the national championship. “If I really had a most outstanding player throughout the entire Final Four it would be David,” 

Agbaji added of David McCormack, who scored 15 points and grabbed 10 rebounds against Carolina and had two huge baskets in the final minute and a half. “We got here at the same time. 

These goals and dreams that we’re living right now we never would have thought it when we first stepped foot on campus,