Masters 2022: Nicklaus, Player, Watson hit opening tee shots to begin Masters

Written by sidhanta

The tradition of Honorary Starters at the Masters began in 1963 with Jock Hutchison and Fred McLeod—players who won the PGA

Other players who have been Honorary Starters include Byron Nelson, Gene Sarazen, Ken Venturi, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Nicklaus, Player and Lee Elder. 

Watson is the latest to join these ranks, named as an honorary starter this past January.

The men, with 11 Masters wins between them, did their duty—first Player, followed by Nicklaus and then Watson—striking their shots to begin the 2022 tournament in earnest. 

They played to the crowds, reveling in the moment and delivering a scene that exemplifies why this tournament means so much to so many, encapsulated

The constant drizzle made the tee shots’ trajectories tough to decipher. Where they landed is besides the point. 

What matters is after a patron-less Masters in the fall of 2020 and a limited gallery last spring, the first tee was surrounded once again to honor this tradition unlike any other.

Jimmy Savile: British Horror Story airs on Netflix 

Jimmy Savile: British Horror Story airs on Netflix